Life is generous

By: Kirsty

Jan 23 2010

Tags: , , , , , ,

Category: creatures, Daily Photos

2 Comments

Aperture:f/11
Focal Length:70mm
ISO:400
Shutter:1/125 sec
Camera:Canon EOS-1D Mark II

heavenly cows

Inspired by this post http://lesliepaints.wordpress.com/2010/01/22/holstein-cow/, I have decided to post this photo taken a few days ago (on the same night as my previous post https://kirstyfliesfree.wordpress.com/2010/01/20/one-enchanted-evening/). Leslie is a talented artist and she shares her wealth of knowledge so generously. Cows are also generous creatures, though they may not know it. Their whole existence centres around providing sustenance for humans.

Lately I have had many experiences of generosity and loving kindness, from friends, acquaintances and strangers. It has given me cause to notice my response. I have a tendency to wonder whether I ‘deserve’ it when people are kind to me. Sometimes I even feel compelled to modify my behavior so I will be more ‘deserving’ of the love being expressed. When I consider this more closely it is clearly a ridiculous notion. Love and kindness are not things we can earn. All we can do is receive them graciously.

I remember hearing once that when children act out the Christian parable of ‘The Good Samaritan’ there are plenty of volunteers for nearly every role, including the nasty people who mock the Samaritan. It is, however, quite difficult to find a volunteer to play the man who is being helped. It can be challenging to receive love with grace and serenity and not fall into the trap of trying to ‘earn’ it. People need each other. I guess it can make us feel vulnerable to admit it.

2 comments on “Life is generous”

  1. Oh my, Kirsty. This is beautiful right down to the things you say about giving and receiving. This sky is scrumptious and I like it with the cows. Thank-you for linking to my cow with this photo.

  2. This is awesome! Why haven’t I seen this before?


Leave a Reply

