silly galahs

By: Kirsty

May 31 2010

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Category: creatures, Daily Photos

14 Comments

Aperture:f/4
Focal Length:200mm
ISO:400
Shutter:1/500 sec
Camera:Canon EOS-1D Mark II


It’s autumn in the Valley. The birds in Healesville are having a great time eating all the offerings that fall from the European trees. There are parrots everywhere. Yesterday I spent a very enjoyable hour  following galahs and cockatoos around the town and trying to photograph them. Galahs really are silly! It’s amazing how they don’t blink when a giant truck goes past them with a few inches to spare, but someone with a camera 20 metres away is enough to send them flying.

This scene had the feeling of a gang war stand-off. They really are the strangest birds. I will post some photos of a cockatoo gang next time.

14 comments on “silly galahs”

  1. Haha love the pic and the description…it really does look like a standoff! The only animals I have to look at outside are squirrels, so I’m envious!
    http://www.denwrites.com

  2. Wow! you know, I love it when I go on my special blogs and I see or learn something I never knew or have ever seen before Kirsty – and this is one of those times:) Never seen such unusual birds who look like they’re having some sort of conflab: they look like a cross between a Puffin and a pigeon, little blushing Puffin Pigeons – so cute and full of personality:)…wonder if they are nice natured though…

    • ‘silly galah’ is a common phrase here, used in friendly mockery. I don’t think I’d call them nice. They hang out in big groups (these four had 20 or 30 friends with them) and make a lot of noise. They are a common bird in this area. I love your description!

  3. Wow, what beautiful birds. Look like parrots, to me, but for the coloring, which I’ve never seen before. Great combo – grey and pink.

    Super shot, Kirsty. Love the POV! Were you on the ground?

    • lol, yes I was on the ground. We have heaps of different parrots here, and you’re right, these are one of them. Perhaps we should give them more airplay instead of harping on about kangaroos and koalas!

  4. I love these little birds! They are beautiful! YEP! Looks like they all want what the other has! 🙂

  5. the only birds we see that even close to these beauties are in pet stores!

  6. I love this photo so much.

  7. “the scene had a feeling of a gang war stand off” LOL! I does sort of look like that. I’m not a big fan of birds in real life, but these look pretty cool.

    • lol I’m guessing you wouldn’t be a fan of galahs in that case. Sometimes they are really noisy, and sometimes they look like they’re auditioning for Hitchcock’s ‘The Birds’.


Leave a Reply

