the bright side

By: Kirsty

Jun 19 2010

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Category: Uncategorized

14 Comments

Aperture:f/11
Focal Length:200mm
ISO:400
Shutter:1/400 sec
Camera:Canon EOS-1D Mark II

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The sleepy little fishing town of 1770 reminded me that there are still beautiful places in the world with wonderful animals and amazing biodiversity. Images of oil-soaked creatures are burned into my consciousness. 1770 washed me clean. These are photos of healthy birds flying free, and other creatures that warmed my heart while I was there.

14 comments on “the bright side”

  1. i feel the same way about our precious wildlife and what humans have done to them down in the gulf. sickening.

    btw…received your print and will be sending off this coming week!

  2. thank you so much! I look forward to my new friend, the wise owl.

  3. Oh, Kirsty … these are wonderful and life-affirming. I just adore how you set this up as a slide show. I’m going to have to figure that one out, if I can do it with my current set-up, which I like with the black background. Thanks so much for sharing these wonderful shots!

  4. Thanks for the slideshow Kirsty, we need it. It breaks my heart because I spent 5 years living on the Gulf coast going to college and know the place. Don’t get me started.

    • Oh FJ, I hear you. It’s painful enough for those of us who aren’t connected to the place. And of course it will affect the whole planet. Still, there is so much beauty. May the Gulf coast not die in vain, but be the catalyst for a dramatic change in our relationship to power (in all its meanings).

  5. Stunning photography from you Kirsty, as usual! loved that little slide show, you should do more – very effective! I particularly liked the two birds in the last shot, the composition and the space between them was very interesting. Also the lone bird flying over the sea – just beautiful!

  6. I think we could all do with the cleanse of the kind that 1770 could bring, thanks for taking us there, if only virtually…
    Very impressed with how you made it a slideshow for us too!

    • You are very welcome Ruby. The slideshow thing is actually pretty easy – I just followed the instructions in wordpress help. I did discover that it won’t work unless you put in a title and save the post as a draft first. I’m pretty sure it works with all templates.

  7. Wonderful post. Beautiful photos, Kirsty.


Leave a Reply

