1:1 macro

By: Kirsty

Nov 12 2010

Tags: , , , , ,

Category: Daily Photos, little things

14 Comments

Aperture:f/5.6
Focal Length:65mm
ISO:400
Shutter:1/250 sec
Camera:Canon EOS-1D Mark II

forget-me-not

This is one of my favorite flowers and it has such a lovely name. This shot was hand held and taken with my manual focus 1:1 macro lens. The flower is actually only about 5 mm across. The yellow centre is less than 1 mm wide. This lens will zoom in 5 times closer than this. I am having a quiet reflective time and find I don’t have a lot to say, but I will post more pictures as I play with this beautiful lens.

14 comments on “1:1 macro”

  1. Awesome!! We forgot you not.

  2. What a sweet shot and what a sweet lens. On my wish list. Nice to see your wonderful photography whenever the mood strikes.

  3. This is gorgeous Kirsty – ans so textural I can actually imagine what it would feel like to touch it:-) Where have you been?

    • Ah Lynda I do love the macro world, imagine if our fingers were that little? I have been deeply engaged in another project relating to creativity and enabling people to access their natural creative abilities. This took a lot of energy for a while, so then I had a creative rest.

  4. I, like Lynda, can actually feel this forget-me-not by just seeing your photo. I must take more time to look at my world around me. I don’t think I have ever looked this closely at one of these little flowers. Beautiful, Kirsty!

  5. Oh lovely photo indeed, Kristy! So glad you’ve found energy and time to visit. Like BSK I envy your lens. Macro photography is something on my to learn list. Thank you.

  6. Hi Kirsty everything about this page sings sweet spring, I love it. Its gentle but totally fresh. I also love the ‘up close and personal’ feel that yr nifty new lens gives

  7. SOOOOOOOOOOO beautiful. It’s SO vivid and alive!!!

    breathing stardust white
    your golden crown floods my heart
    i’ll remember you

    THANK YOU! It’s great seeing You again! Hugs and cheers and Namaste. 🙂

  8. absolutely beautiful treasure of a portrait of a wee tiny flower.

  9. Hey are just roaming in blogland at randome times these days? Hope all is well at your end of the cyber swamp.
    Thanks for dropping into my blogcasa recently. Peace.

    • Hi Eva! I have been enjoying your blog and valuing the information. Also passing it on. I am thinking of revisiting kirstyfliesfree some time soon. Have recently been blogging on an art project at http://kirstydivesdeep.wordpress.com/ though that has been a bit intermittent too. Our community had a big 350.org Moving Planet event last weekend. It was amazing.


Leave a Reply

